Cameron Green and Mitchell Marsh return as Australia bat first

Published on:

Australia won the toss and decided to bat against Sri Lanka

Cameron Green and Mitchell Marsh will play their first matches of the ODI series but Steven Smith misses out with his quad injury and Mitchell Starc waits a bit longer for his return.

Jhye Richardson has also been brought back into the line-up with Pat Cummins rested, and Australia have altered the balance of their attack with just the one frontline spinner in Matt Kuhuemann. Green is slated to bat at No. 8 in an allrounder-heavy side.

Sri Lanka, meanwhile, have made one change with Niroshan Dickwella coming in at the top of the order in place of the injured Danushka Gunathilaka (leg injury), and he is also penciled in to keep wicket.

Marsh is the first of Australia’s injury cohort to return to action after the calf strain he picked up during the T20I series. They will have their fingers crossed they can get through this game without another injury – there has been an extensive list build up so far on tour: Sean Abbott (broke finger), Mitchell Starc (cut finger), Marsh (calf), Kane Richardson (hamstring), Marcus Stoinis (side), Ashton Agar (side) and Smith (quad).

For the first time in the series Australia will bat first. Rain has interrupted both games so far and there is always a chance of DLS coming into play again.

Sri Lanka 1 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 2 Pathum Nissanka, 3 Charith Asalanka, 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Dhananjaya de Silva, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Chamika Karunaratne, 8 Dunith Wellalage, 9 Dushmantha Chameera, 10 Jeffrey Vandersay, 11 Maheesh Theekshana

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch (capt), 3 Mitchell Marsh, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Alex Carey (wk), 6 Travis Head, 7 Glenn Maxwell, 8 Cameron Green, 9 Jhye Richardson, 10 Matthew Kuhnemann, 11 Josh Hazlewood

- Advertisement -