Zimbabwe bat; Shamim Hossain makes T20I debut


Zimbabwe also made two changes to their XI from the opening T20I

Zimbabwe captain Sikandar Raza decided to bat in the second T20I against Bangladesh in Harare. He took the same decision in the first game too, although they went down by eight wickets yesterday.

Zimbabwe rested Richard Ngarava and dropped Tarisai Musakanda, and brought in Tendai Chatara and Milton Shumba.

The day after he took a superb boundary-line catch, Shamim Hossain is making his T20I debut as Bangladesh’s 71st cap in the format. He replaced Liton Das, who suffered a thigh injury in the first game. Mustafizur Rahman was also out due to an ankle niggle, replaced by Taskin Ahmed.

Bangladesh are also without legspinner Aminul Islam as he is flying home after his father died on Thursday.

Zimbabwe: 1 Regis Chakabva (wk), 2 Tadiwanashe Marumani, 3 Wessley Madhevere, 4 Dion Myers, 5 Sikandar Raza (capt), 6 Milton Shumba, 7 Ryan Burl, 8 Donald Tiripano, 9 Luke Jongwe, 10 Blessing Muzarabani, 11 Tendai Chatara

Bangladesh: 1 Soumya Sarkar, 2 Mohammad Naim, 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mahmudullah (capt), 5 Nurul Hasan (wk), 6 Afif Hossain, 7 Shamim Hossain, 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Shoriful Islam

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84